18
May
11

Making Mobile, Making Mortar (East Village/LES)

So if you recall from my summer jaunts across the city last year, I came across two scrumptuous ice cream vendors: Melt Bakery at the Hester Street Fair and the Big Gay Ice Cream Truck in Union Square.  Within the past week, there’s been some buzz about both that I thought you guys would find useful. 

Bowery Boogie is reporting that Melt Bakery is now going to set-up shop at 132 Orchard Street.  Does that mean they will no longer be a staple at the Hester Street Fair?  Hope not!  Hester Street and I have a date coming up in a few weeks and I definitely want to check out Melt’s pretty awesome ice cream sandwiches with their creative flavor combinations.   Lily Koi, Ike, Cocoa Daddy and the Jackson are on the top of my to-try list.  I’ll have to report back on this…

As for the Big Gay Ice Cream guys, they are making news of their own.  Gothamist is reporting that they will be setting up shop in the East Village on 7th Street somewhere between First and A.  Unfortunately we don’t have a timeframe other than “this summer” to go off of, so I guess we will have to keep checking their website with pictures that will make you want to spontaneously lick your screen.  I’m not saying I do that, but I’m just saying you maaaay want to do that.  Just maybe.

0 Responses to “Making Mobile, Making Mortar (East Village/LES)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Food Trail


